Furniture Hall of Fame Announces Nominees

Bob TimberlakeBob Timberlake

The American Furniture Hall of Fame Foundation has included business partners as a team for the first time among its 2010 nominees.

The six nominees are: Gerald Birnbach of Rowe Furniture; Manuel Capo of El Dorado Furniture; Thomas Day, a leading furniture maker in the mid-1800s; Darrell and Stella Harris, founders of Furniture Southland; Michael and George Massood, of MGM Transport; and artist/designer Bob Timberlake.

Birnbach was the chairman of Rowe Furniture, where he started as a salesman in 1956. Capo grew El Dorado Furniture into one of the top 50 furniture chains in the United States.

Day was a free, black business owner and master craftsman. Darrell and Stella Harris have grown Furniture Southland into one of the world's largest retail furnishings showplaces at over 1 million square feet.

The Massoods have spearheaded innovative concepts including an order consolidation system, full-service assembly and repair facilities. Timberlake is an internationally recognized artist known for his theme-based furniture collections.

"This year's slate represents some of the best from the breadth of our industry, including retailers, manufacturers, designers and suppliers," said Jeff Cook, president of the Foundation. "Each stands for leadership and innovation in their fields and has positively impacted the home furnishings industry. It is an impressive slate."

The nominees were selected from nominations by Foundation members who submitted a biography including detailed information about professional achievements, personal standards and civic involvements. Each nomination was seconded in writing by another member. The voting period begins June 28 and ends July 30.

New members will be announced and officially inducted into the American Furniture Hall of Fame at the annual banquet celebration on Oct. 17, at the High Point Market.

HFN Staff | News & Commentary

HFN provides detailed information on the key home classifications: Housewares, Tabletop, Floor Covering & Rugs, Furniture, Home Textiles, Lighting, Home Decor, Mattresses & Bedding, Gifts, Major Appliances and Consumer Electronics as well as Business, Finance and Retail.


Current Issue

  • HFN May digital issue


    May 2017

    COVER STORY: HFN Turns 90

    We commemorate HFN's 90th anniversary by paying tribute to the iconic retailer and supplier brands--and the people--that have helped the industry flourish, then and now.


    • Up & Coming Leaders - The home industry is in capable and visionary hands as this year’s 40 Under 40 list attests. Today’s young leaders span all disciplines and varied levels of operation.
    • Omnichannel Retailing - In the Mobile App World, Time is Money