WithIt Donates $5K to City of Hope

Caroline Hipple wins fundraising raffle
November 1, 2016David Gill

WithItHIGH POINT, N.C.—WithIt has donated more than $5,100 to City of Hope for cancer and women’s health research following its Education Breakfast held here recently.

“It was such a great honor to be able to represent our WithIt members and friends to offer such a generous donation to City of Hope,” said Lorri Kelley, president of BDI and the vice president of education for WithIt. “The work they are doing in research to eradicate the types of cancers that specifically target women is critically important, and being able to offer support for this initiative on behalf of everyone at WithIt was just terrific.”

More than 100 industry leaders, designers and retailers gathered to hear about Portuguese designer Joana Aranha’s inspiring design work, which spans the globe. Aranha is the founder of Bunakara, which showed its newly launched collection in the Suites at Market Square.

The winning ticket was also drawn concluding WithIt’s Winner’s Choice fundraising raffle. Industry veteran and WithIt founding member Caroline Hipple, president of Norwalk Furniture, won her choice of trips to Scotland, Fiji, the Masters or London and Paris. All the proceeds from the raffle will be used to support WithIt’s educational programs during its 20th anniversary year in 2017.

“I’ve told so many people today that yesterday I won an amazing trip to Fiji and it allowed me to talk about the good work at WithIt,” said Hipple. “It pays to play and to support a good cause no matter what the prize. But I got very lucky with this one.”

David GillDavid Gill | Senior Editor

David Gill covers home textiles, small electrics housewares, personal-care products, cleaning products, mattresses, consumer electronics and major appliances. He also reports on retailers and writes about the business and financial side of both vendors and retailers. He has more than 30 years of experience in business journalism, and has worked for other publications and websites that cover consumer products from both the manufacturer and retailer sides. His outside interests include sports (he is a big fan of the New York teams and of British soccer), cooking, movies and theater. He occasionally enjoys a good cigar as well.


Subscribe to
HFN Omnichannel
Receive the news you need to know about the trends in the industry delivered right to your inbox.

Current Issue

  • HFN May digital issue


    May 2017

    COVER STORY: HFN Turns 90

    We commemorate HFN's 90th anniversary by paying tribute to the iconic retailer and supplier brands--and the people--that have helped the industry flourish, then and now.


    • Up & Coming Leaders - The home industry is in capable and visionary hands as this year’s 40 Under 40 list attests. Today’s young leaders span all disciplines and varied levels of operation.
    • Omnichannel Retailing - In the Mobile App World, Time is Money